Explore the mystery and excitement of creating a pieced abstract quilt with little or no plan.

"Come with an open mind and an open heart and we’ll journey into the vast space of creative bliss." -sheila

This is a 6-week course and you may choose one of two sessions depending on your timezone.

Both sessions are the same course.   

I am really excited to teach this workshop for six weeks. Normally, I have taught this class over 5 days, but now you have the opportunity to slowly create your piece and allow it to unfold... 

In this workshop, you will be given several options in which to compose your design, and choose whatever feels right for you. We will discuss basic design and composition, color and value, quilting, and most importantly - trusting your instincts. 

After you register, you will have immediate access to a tutorial where I share my construction techniques for sewing curved seams. Throughout this course, I will discuss some of the challenges you may run into with spontaneous design and piecing and so much more.

This is a great workshop for advanced quilters as well as beginners. 

Wherever you are is where we will start from.

Session 2

Currently 17 places available

Fridays: May 21, May 28, June 4, June 11, June 18, June 25

Hawaii Noon-3pm  •  Pacific 3pm-6pm  •  Mountain 4pm-7pm  •  Central 5pm-8pm   Eastern  6pm-9pm


Saturdays: May 22, May 29, June 5, June 12, June 19, June 26

Australia West 6am-9am  •  Australia East 8am-11am  •  New Zealand 5am-8am

I hope you will join me!

Enrollment will be limited to 24 students.

Session 1 • Thursdays • May 20, May 27, June 3, June 10, June 17, June 24

Hawaii 7am-10am • Pacific 10am-1pm • Mountain 11am-2pm • Central Noon-3pm • Eastern 1pm-4pm • Central Europe 7pm-10pm • United Kingdom 6pm-9pm

Your experience is important to me...

My goal is for you to be prepared for this workshop, technically and otherwise. Therefore, I will be providing you with the following:

  • Immediately after registration you may access the pre-recorded lessons in this course. This includes a tutorial on sewing curved seams with no pins as well as downloads on basic color theory to aide you in selecting your palette.

  • Access to a Private Community for this course.

  • Technical tips and advise to enhance your experience.

What my students are saying...

Monica Johnstone

"Since I’m primarily an art quilter these days, I look for classes that will help me grow. There are many classes around that are based on short-cut techniques or patterns, but I screen for those that will give me insight into makers I admire and that have the potential to teach me more about color, line, and more sophisticated construction techniques. I hit the jackpot when I signed up for a two-day course offered by Sheila Frampton-Cooper. Her style of teaching is affirming, professional, warm, inclusive, and shows a strong intuitive grasp of where the student is. Her discussion of her work was process oriented and a great spring-board into our own immediate construction of individual motifs and color schemes. The environment in the class was collegial and we all got a substantial amount of work done. In her class, you learn to work in her manner without leaving as a clone—just as it should be. I went home inspired to keep going on my project and see it to completion."

Catherine Beard

“I have wanted to take a class from Sheila for a long time but none have been close so I was delighted to find an on-line class. I wondered if it would be possible to get the same amount of help as an in person class. It proved to be no problem. Sheila is very organized and had worked out how to use zoom as an interactive tool. She had a white board for demonstrations and she used procreate to show us ideas for our individual work. I was able to hear and see all she was doing with each student. One of the best things about taking a class is learning from the people around you. The Zoom format capitalizes on that. I had hoped by taking a class from Sheila to gain new ways of thinking about my own work. I felt fairly confident working intuitively, but wanted to get another point of view. I came away with many new ideas bubbling away! I truly appreciated Sheila’s personality and teaching style. I watched as she gently lead each of us in to new ways of thinking. I am far more blunt, not always the best because it can stop the “flow”. But Sheila guided us each to a broader perspective. We were a diverse class. Some had a fair amount of intuitive background, while others were new to the practice. Sheila met us each where we were and I believe everyone made strides in the class. I watched and admired her teaching talent as well as her artistic talent. She is so very willing to share her gifts. If you get an opportunity to take a class from Sheila, grab it! Any worries about an online class need not be. I believe you will find new ideas and thoughts as a result of a class from her.” -Catherine Beard Sheila is a fabulous soul and teacher. She is methodical in explaining her process and color choices, but allows you to take the turns as wide as you want to. She walks the class room constantly, stopping by each person, giving feedback and advice if you have a hard time to figure out how to continue. It’s a hard balance - being available for questions and advice, but still letting the individual do their thing. But she manages to do just that - with style, finesse and a good sense of humor to boot. If you are interested in being a little daring, and would like to receive wonderful guidance and take your quilting and your sense of color to the next level, please sign up for a workshop with Sheila!”

Nancy Eisenmenger

"Looking for a wonderful way to nurture your creative soul? Join Sheila Frampton Cooper for one of her workshops. Sheila is a fantastic teacher with a beautiful spirit to match. She works with you and helps you to access your inner creativity. Sheila will help you explore design options, while learning tips for piecing and fabric placement. At the end of the workshop you will have a fiber piece beyond your wildest expectations. You will also have a lifetime of friendships. Sheila encourages a loving, supportive atmosphere, helping you to explore your creative soul in a beautiful environment. I can’t say enough about the course I took with Sheila Frampton Cooper. It is not often that we come across someone so giving, and willing to teach us all that they know in order to encourage our creativity."

Stay Informed!

Add your email to the mailing list to get the latest updates.

Refund Policy

  • Refund Policy

    If your schedule should change prior to the start date and if your space can be filled, you will receive a full refund less a $50 service fee. Once the Workshop begins, there are no refunds for missing any or all of the sessions.

  • If you miss a day...

    I understand that things may come up unexpectedly, and if you miss a class or a portion of one, a recording will be available for one week following the live lesson. You will be able to access it in this course.